Business Briefs

FROM THE OCTOBER ISSUE: The Minnesota Bio-Fuels Association has new members, the U.S. Grains Council elects its first chairwoman, and ACE presents its industry awards.
By Lisa Gibson | September 17, 2017

Pinnacle, hth join Minnesota Bio-Fuels Association
Environmental engineering firm Pinnacle Engineering Inc. and contractor hth cos. have joined the Minnesota Bio-Fuels Association as vendor members.

Pinnacle provides environmental and engineering services to ethanol plants nationwide. “Pinnacle’s mission is to provide comprehensive solutions to complex environmental engineering problems,” says Steve Schleicher, vice president of Industrial Services at Pinnacle. “We’ve taken this service approach to the ethanol industry and supporting the Minnesota Bio-Fuels Association’s efforts to represent and promote the renewable fuels industry in Minnesota is an integral part of our service.” Based in Minneapolis, Pinnacle also has offices in Rochester, Minnesota; Omaha, Nebraska; Bismarck, North Dakota; and Billings, Montana.

Apart from the ethanol industry, Pinnacle also serves the environmental needs of railroad, industrial, commercial, utility and manufacturing clients.

Hth’s services for the ethanol industry include mechanical insulation, scaffold erection, hydro blasting, vacuum trucks, mechanical work such as pipe fitting, welding and pump repairs and confined space rescue.

“We chose to join the Minnesota Bio-Fuels Association as an added resource for us in fulfilling the needs of both our current customers and future customers,” says Mike Freese, president of hth cos.

Keller elected as first US Grains Council chairwoman
Deb Keller, a farmer from Clarion, Iowa, was elected U.S. Grains Council chairwoman  Aug. 2 at the organization’s 57th Annual Board of Delegates Meeting in Vancouver, Washington. In accepting the chairman’s gavel, she also made history as the first female selected for the role in the organization’s nearly 60-year history.

USGC says Keller’s experience as a strong advocate for trade will amplify the council’s mission of developing markets, enabling trade and improving lives.

“Thinking ahead, I see so many areas for growth, but I also see challenges that will take much time and patience to see through,” Keller says. “After working with our delegates, the board and our staff both internationally and domestically, I know we can be successful together.”

Keller has served as lead of USGC’s Rest of World A-team, chair of the Iowa Corn Promotion Board, and as a member of the National Corn Growers Association’s Research and Business Development Action Team.

She earned a bachelor’s degree in agronomy from Purdue University and has farmed in Wright County, Iowa, for more than 25 years.

Wyatt joins USGC as global strategies coordinator
Kathryn Wyatt has joined the U.S. Grains Council as global strategies coordinator in the Washington, D.C., office.

In this role, Wyatt will work with the USGC global strategies and trade policy teams and offer vital administrative support for USGC’s overseas marketing programs.

“Katy brings a strong administrative background and a proven passion for international programs,” says Kurt Shultz, USGC senior director of global strategies. “She will fill a key role in supporting our international marketing programs.”

Before joining USGC, Wyatt gained experience working on the MasterCard Foundation’s 2017 Young Africa Works Summit and on publicizing success stories for the Canadian International Development Agency’s program in Ethiopia. Wyatt previously worked as a teaching assistant and administrative support officer with Dalhousie University in Canada.

Wyatt attended Dalhousie University and earned a bachelor’s degree in economics and international development, as well as a master’s degree in economics.

ACE presents industry awards at annual conference
The American Coalition for Ethanol presented awards Aug. 15 during its annual conference in Omaha. The awards and their recipients are:
• Merle Anderson Award: Doug Durante, Executive Director, Clean Fuels Development Coalition
• Grassroots Award: Siouxland Ethanol LLC in Jackson, Nebraska
• Paul Dana Marketing Vision Award: Bosselman Enterprises, based in Grand Island, Nebraska
• Legislative Leadership Award: Sen. Deb Fischer, R-Neb.