North Carolina awards recognize ethanol advocates

By | May 22, 2007
  • WARNING: Resizehelper couldn't find requeted file: /datadrive/websites/
North Carolina's Department of Transportation, the Department of Environment and Natural Resources Division of Air Quality, and the Department of Administration State Energy Office cosponsored the state's inaugural North Carolina Mobile Clean Air Renewable Energy (CARE) awards, presented April 18 to recognize outstanding individual and organizational efforts for reducing transportation emissions. Four recipients were given awards in regard to ethanol: the city of Conover, N.C., Thomas Petroleum Co., and state Sens. Charlie Albertson and Janet Cowell.

All of Conover's gasoline-powered city vehicles run on E10. Thomas Petroleum Co. has opened several E85 pumps and encouraged several other companies to do the same. Albertson and Cowell have pushed for numerous biofuels bills, including the Energy Independence Act that passed in 2006.