ISU team receives award for fungal research

By | July 08, 2008
A team of Iowa State University researchers won the 2008 grand prize for university research from the American Academy of Environmental Engineers. Anthony Pometto, Hans van Leeuwen, Mary Rasmussen and Samir Khanal were recognized for their research in developing a fungal process that improves the corn-to-ethanol production process. The researchers identified and applied a particular fungus, called Rhizopus microsporus, to the thin stillage that's left after distillation. They said the use of this fungus reduces the energy costs required by current evaporation technologies. Besides facilitating the recycling of the enzymes and water in the stillage, the fungus can be harvested as a high-protein feed supplement.