FEW: Call for award, scholarship nominations

By Hope Deutscher | April 14, 2009
Web exclusive posted April 16, 2009, at 11:38 a.m. CST

BBI International is soliciting nominations for the 25th Annual International Fuel Ethanol Workshop & Expo High Octane Award, the Award of Excellence, and FEW Scholarships.

The awards and scholarship winners will be presented at the FEW in Denver on June 15-18.

"We have established a tradition of recognizing individuals making powerful contributions to the ethanol industry's pursuit of greater efficiencies, operational enhancements and production breakthroughs, as well as those who are contributing to its growth through policy, public education and leadership," said Tom Bryan, BBI International's Vice President of Content & Communications. "It's an honor for us to celebrate the achievements of these deserving individuals each year on what has become a global stage."

The High Octane Award and the Award of Excellence are presented to outstanding ethanol industry professionals during general sessions of the FEW. According to BBI, the High Octane Award acknowledges, by peoples' choice, nomination and voting, a person who has helped the ethanol industry mature and progress over the years. The deadline to submit a nomination is May 1. The list of nominations will be narrowed down and by May 15 a winner will be chosen through an online voting process. (Click here to submit a nomination.)

In 2008, David Kolsrud, chief executive officer of DAK Renewable Energy, received the High Octane Award, which included a trophy and a $1,000 check.

This award, established by BBI International in 2000, recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the fuel ethanol industry through research, technical advisory and/or development activities. The award selection committee is made up of several industry and academic scientists and the selection is made among a wide cadre of candidates.

The FEW Award of Excellence follows a formal nomination and peer review procedure to identify and recognize an individual who has published papers and/or made significant research, technical advisory and development contributions in the ethanol industry. The deadline to submit nominations is May 1. An award committee, led by Dr. Kevin Hicks with the USDA-ARS-Eastern Regional Research Center, will choose a winner by May 15. (Click here to submit a nomination.)

Dr. Jay Shetty, a research fellow for Genencor, a division of Danisco A/S, received the 2008 Award of Excellence and a $1,000 check. Shetty is an expert in carbohydrase and other enzymes and has taken part in many important developments in enzymology and related applications in the grain processing area. He has contributed to more than 35 patents and numerous research publications.

In addition to the industry awards, BBI's 2009 FEW Scholarship Program will award two $1,000 educational scholarships to individuals interested in careers in the ethanol industry. The scholarship funds must be applied toward tuition at the recipient's college or university. The deadline for applications is May 1. Winners will be selected by committee and notified prior to the event. (Click here for more information.)

BBI International's 2008 Fuel Ethanol Workshop Scholarship Program awarded educational scholarships to Colin Sorenson from Missoula, Mont., who is attending the University of Montana; Hugh Howe from Chariton, Iowa, who is attending Indian Hills Community College/William Penn University; and Nancy Bawa from Saskatoon, Canada, who is attending the University of Saskatchewan.